Showing posts with label health. Show all posts
Showing posts with label health. Show all posts

Sunday, 5 May 2013

tough...

It's Bank Holiday Monday. I was up at 5.20am whist Chris & many other British citizens snooze blissfully in their beds. Urggggggh. But I was up and getting fit! 
This mornings bootcamp started of like every other, the dreaded run. And I was still as bloody useless as ever. Petra decided to give us a 50:10 today. OUCH! And it was brutal! 50 seconds hard exercise with only 10 seconds to recover. I use the word 'recover' in the loosest way possible. Today was very run-heavy, shuttle runs and running on the spot. The first round of shuttle runs was okay (ish) but the second I really struggled with. I was so out of breath, sporting the most delightful red/purple complexion and pretty much ready to die when Petra said 'Your fitness levels are improving'
This made my day!
I didn't feel good at the time and I certainly haven't noticed any improvement in myself in any way shape or form but that meant such a lot.

I really find that the endorphins kick in when I finish Bootcamp in the morning. I feel so good and ready to take on anything my day ahead brings. I usually get home and have a bit of a clean up around the house then have a shower and get ready for the day. Admittedly, at the moment whilst my body is still getting used to the amount of exercise I'm doing plus the time I'm awake, I'm completely knackered by about 11am. But it's a nice kind of tired. And the kind of tired that I don't mind feeling as I've actually been up, got of my (large) ass and done something thats going to benefit my health. 

I'm absolutely starving right now as we've nothing in the house, nothing I can eat within my ED diet anyway so off to Tesco I go later.

Cornish Beauty.

Friday, 3 May 2013

it's official.....

Yep, that's right, I am now an official Bootcamper! I'm signed up, got the diet plan. Ready to get fit & make some changes!

I've now been doing Bootcamp with Petra for nearly two weeks and i am loving it! (never thought I'd say that about exercise!). It just suits me: quick and over and done with soon, you can feel it working every muscle in your body and I've genuinely met some new friends. Inspirational Fitness have got it down to a T and I think (hope) that they can help me make huge changes to my body!

The workouts are great; 6.10am-7am. Sounds brutal, doesn't it?! and most of my friends gasp in horror when I tell them I do that. And above anything they are shocked; anyone that knows me, knows that I am NOT an early bird. Okay, I'm not quite as bad as I was as a teenager but I bloody love my lie-ins! At the moment though I am really enjoying getting up at 5.20am to get ready for Bootcamp. I roll out of bed, brush my teeth, wash my face, slap on some concealer (the bags need it, ok?), shove my work-out gear on and go. Its's about a 5-10 minute drive for me to the Bootcamp location but I really enjoy it. The roads are dead quiet and it's quite special being the only one around for miles. Having said this, I think I may feel rather different when the horrible drizzly, dark winter mornings come! But lets not get bogged down on that right now.
I'm getting used to Petra's way of training now and definitely think it's for me. She pushes you and encourages you whilst being totally supportive at the same time. The work-out varies every time so there is no chance to get bored! The only thing I'm still struggling with is the running! I don't know what it is about running but it instantly has me unable to breathe. Hopefully this will get better in time as I do more of it. I'm also suffering with pretty painful shin splints at the moment (down the front of both shins) and any blunt force (ie jumping up & down or running) is pretty uncomfortable. But again, as my body gets used to doing more exercise and with some sports massage from Petra, I'm sure it will only get better.

The Body Transformation Programme I am taking part in involves:
  • Bootcamp 
  • Daily at home work-outs
  • Diet plan
  • Support from Petra & other clients
  • Fitness tests once a week


I'm also embarking on the recommended diet soon. It's called an Elimination Diet (ED) and quite simply, eliminates certain things from your diet. These are generally things containing toxins, which the body finds hard to process. So basically, it's eating CLEAN. Think fresh veggies, fruit, salad and meats. Can't go wrong huh? I'm going to cut out all the crap from my diet and see what happens. I have certain food groups that I can and cannot eat. I'm not going to lie-it's not going to be easy as I'm a fussy eater as it is but I think it will really benefit me long term. And after all. weight-loss is about a lifestyle change and education yourself on whats necessary for the body, and what isn't. I'll keep you updated on this when I start, probably in a day or so once I've been shopping and done some research on what I can eat. And I'm also expecting to feel pretty rubbish for a few weeks, due to my body not getting the crap/toxins I usually feed it and eating CLEAN. But this is only short term whilst my body gets rid of all those toxins and on the other side, I should feel great. I'm looking forward to feeling more energetic/less bloated and nauseous and generally feeling GOOD. 

My aims for this week are:
  • Monday/Wednesday Bootcamp (can't do Friday this week due to work)
  • Home work-outs every day
  • Start ED diet
  • Be organised with planning & making meals

I'm now going to take my 'Before' photos (eeeeeeeek) and measure myself and will log these on here when I can.

Cornish Beauty.





Wednesday, 24 April 2013

bootcamp | day 1

Well, as expected all the worrying and drama was for nothing. It's now 8am (24/4/13) and I've been to Bootcamp, got home and had a shower. And I am ALIVE. That is all.


Not really, but being alive is a relief I have to say. I was an eager beaver (or nervous beaver) and up at 5.10am, waiting at the bootcamp venue at 6am. I met my lovely friend, Haley and met all the lovely guys and gals doing bootcamp and what a lovely bunch they are. I met Petra, my trainer, who is super lovely and instantly put me at ease. Anyway, onto the juicy (sweaty) stuff........

We started off with a run around the school, if you remember my last post, this was the part I was dreading. And to be honest, i was PATHETIC! But, I did my best and it doesn't really matter because once I'd stopped running, I power-walked until I got my breath back. After a five minute warm-up, the hard work begun. Bootcamp is all about interval training, bringing your heart rate right up, then resting for a small amount of time before bringing heart rate right back up again. Apparently this is rather scientific and the best way to burn fat and lose weight. And the best things is? It's only about a 1/2 hour workout. Ideal! Today was, apparently, an 'easy' day. HA! Well that scares me as I was instantly purple in the face and breathing like I still smoked. We worked out to a ratio of 30/30. 30 seconds hard work with 30 seconds rest. Does't sound much does it? but when you're going all-out and think that you're going to die, it's a long time! We did things like running on the spot, lunges, boxing moves, tricep dips and loads more but I'm not a fitness bunny (yet) and don't know the names! But trust me, it was more than enough to get my heart rate up and my muscles screaming. Half an hour of that, a walk and a warm-down later, we were done.Workout 1 = complete. 

I have to say, I really enjoyed it! It was a fun  atmosphere, Petra is brilliant and supportive and was lovely to see my bootcamp-buddy Haley. I had good fun! I'm going again on Friday morning, and I'm expecting not to be able to walk tomorrow but I know these first few weeks are going to be the hardest until I get into some kind of routine and get my body used to this early morning hardcore workout. 

Will keep updating & let you know what kind of package I go for with Petra. Hoping this really is going to be a huge change to my life and help.

Cornish Beauty.

Tuesday, 23 April 2013

reasons to get fit.


This document is key. A reference to use as often as needed to keep myself on the straight and narrow. It's the driving forces behind my weight-loss dream. It's why.

Why do I want to get fit & loose weight?

To be healthier
To look better
To be able to shop in 'normal' shops & buy anything
To wear clothes that don't dig in
To buy sexy underwear
To be confident in my body
To be proud
To get pregnant with a healthy pregnancy
Enjoy the outdoors more
To live longer
To respect my body
To boost my energy levels
TO CHANGE MY LIFE

Ir really is as simple as that; I want to change the way I live my life and what I do with it. I don't want to continue abusing my body with what I eat and what I do. Because, it won't stand for it much longer. As is stands, I'm in reasonable health but the risk of heart disease and diabetes is not funny. All for the sake of that Mars bar? I don't think so. I'm going to make a change and love myself again, and by golly, it's been a long time since I've done that.

Cornish Beauty.




Monday, 22 April 2013

introduction.

Why, hello there!

I've set up this second blog to (hopefully) follow me along my weight loss journey. I'm going to be as honest as I can comfortably be on here and use it as an aid to encourage myself.

So, I recently got quite a gutting diagnosis. It affects my life and what will happen with it but most of all, it's primarily caused by my weight, or the excess of it! Which is Utterly heartbreaking. I've done the upset part, I've cried many tears and been angry but now it's time to DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT! As of yet, I'm not going to document my weight on here as I just don't feel comfy doing that (yet). But I will tell you this-I reckon I've got a good 5/6 stone to loose before I'm healthy. That is a lot. It's overwhelming & scary, but everyone's gotta start somewhere, right?

The reason why I've started this now is that I've hit an all time low. I feel like shit. I don't want to be the size I am and I'm miserable. Every aspect of my life is suffering as a result of my size, or the way I feel about my size. And something has got to change. Me. I have to change. And I'm not going to fanny around, I'm going to do it. I've already been practicing yoga since January and I've completely fallen in love with it so I'm going to continue doing that once a week, with my wonderful instructor Tina. I've also been given the opportunity to sample a Bootcamp. Just that word fills be with dread! I'm trying it on Wednesday (ill let you know what happens!) and it's 0610-0700 on Monday, Wednesdays & Fridays. Eeeeeek. It comes with personal trainer advice, nutrition plan and lots more so I'm going to give it a go! I'm going to try and document my progress on here.

I don't really have a goal or target weight but I would like to eventually be a size 14. That would be a dream. (I am a long way from this though!!!) I also have a wedding to go to in October and would like to be happier with size then as be confident to wear a nice outfit. So no particular target but I need to loose a lot and work bloody Hard to get there!!!!

So wish me luck and let's do this!

Cornish Beauty.