Showing posts with label weightloss.. Show all posts
Showing posts with label weightloss.. Show all posts

Sunday, 5 May 2013

tough...

It's Bank Holiday Monday. I was up at 5.20am whist Chris & many other British citizens snooze blissfully in their beds. Urggggggh. But I was up and getting fit! 
This mornings bootcamp started of like every other, the dreaded run. And I was still as bloody useless as ever. Petra decided to give us a 50:10 today. OUCH! And it was brutal! 50 seconds hard exercise with only 10 seconds to recover. I use the word 'recover' in the loosest way possible. Today was very run-heavy, shuttle runs and running on the spot. The first round of shuttle runs was okay (ish) but the second I really struggled with. I was so out of breath, sporting the most delightful red/purple complexion and pretty much ready to die when Petra said 'Your fitness levels are improving'
This made my day!
I didn't feel good at the time and I certainly haven't noticed any improvement in myself in any way shape or form but that meant such a lot.

I really find that the endorphins kick in when I finish Bootcamp in the morning. I feel so good and ready to take on anything my day ahead brings. I usually get home and have a bit of a clean up around the house then have a shower and get ready for the day. Admittedly, at the moment whilst my body is still getting used to the amount of exercise I'm doing plus the time I'm awake, I'm completely knackered by about 11am. But it's a nice kind of tired. And the kind of tired that I don't mind feeling as I've actually been up, got of my (large) ass and done something thats going to benefit my health. 

I'm absolutely starving right now as we've nothing in the house, nothing I can eat within my ED diet anyway so off to Tesco I go later.

Cornish Beauty.

Wednesday, 24 April 2013

bootcamp | day 1

Well, as expected all the worrying and drama was for nothing. It's now 8am (24/4/13) and I've been to Bootcamp, got home and had a shower. And I am ALIVE. That is all.


Not really, but being alive is a relief I have to say. I was an eager beaver (or nervous beaver) and up at 5.10am, waiting at the bootcamp venue at 6am. I met my lovely friend, Haley and met all the lovely guys and gals doing bootcamp and what a lovely bunch they are. I met Petra, my trainer, who is super lovely and instantly put me at ease. Anyway, onto the juicy (sweaty) stuff........

We started off with a run around the school, if you remember my last post, this was the part I was dreading. And to be honest, i was PATHETIC! But, I did my best and it doesn't really matter because once I'd stopped running, I power-walked until I got my breath back. After a five minute warm-up, the hard work begun. Bootcamp is all about interval training, bringing your heart rate right up, then resting for a small amount of time before bringing heart rate right back up again. Apparently this is rather scientific and the best way to burn fat and lose weight. And the best things is? It's only about a 1/2 hour workout. Ideal! Today was, apparently, an 'easy' day. HA! Well that scares me as I was instantly purple in the face and breathing like I still smoked. We worked out to a ratio of 30/30. 30 seconds hard work with 30 seconds rest. Does't sound much does it? but when you're going all-out and think that you're going to die, it's a long time! We did things like running on the spot, lunges, boxing moves, tricep dips and loads more but I'm not a fitness bunny (yet) and don't know the names! But trust me, it was more than enough to get my heart rate up and my muscles screaming. Half an hour of that, a walk and a warm-down later, we were done.Workout 1 = complete. 

I have to say, I really enjoyed it! It was a fun  atmosphere, Petra is brilliant and supportive and was lovely to see my bootcamp-buddy Haley. I had good fun! I'm going again on Friday morning, and I'm expecting not to be able to walk tomorrow but I know these first few weeks are going to be the hardest until I get into some kind of routine and get my body used to this early morning hardcore workout. 

Will keep updating & let you know what kind of package I go for with Petra. Hoping this really is going to be a huge change to my life and help.

Cornish Beauty.

Tuesday, 23 April 2013

reasons to get fit.


This document is key. A reference to use as often as needed to keep myself on the straight and narrow. It's the driving forces behind my weight-loss dream. It's why.

Why do I want to get fit & loose weight?

To be healthier
To look better
To be able to shop in 'normal' shops & buy anything
To wear clothes that don't dig in
To buy sexy underwear
To be confident in my body
To be proud
To get pregnant with a healthy pregnancy
Enjoy the outdoors more
To live longer
To respect my body
To boost my energy levels
TO CHANGE MY LIFE

Ir really is as simple as that; I want to change the way I live my life and what I do with it. I don't want to continue abusing my body with what I eat and what I do. Because, it won't stand for it much longer. As is stands, I'm in reasonable health but the risk of heart disease and diabetes is not funny. All for the sake of that Mars bar? I don't think so. I'm going to make a change and love myself again, and by golly, it's been a long time since I've done that.

Cornish Beauty.